Monday, June 8, 2015


The normal human heart contains 4 valves that regulate blood flow into and out of the heart. The aortic and pulmonic valves are known as the semilunar valves, whereas the tricuspid and mitral valves are referred to as the atrioventricular valves. All the valves are trileaflet, with the exception of the mitral valve, which has 2 leaflets. All 4 cardiac valves are surrounded by fibrous tissue forming partial or complete valvular rings, or annuli. These annuli join the fibrous skeleton of the heart to anchor and support the valvular structures.

The aortic valve is located between the left ventricular outflow tract and the ascending aorta.
The aortic valve functions to prevent the regurgitation of blood from the aorta into the left ventricle during ventricular diastole and to allow the appropriate flow of blood— the cardiac output —from the left ventricle into the aorta during ventricular systole. The aortic valve has 3 principle components: the annulus, cusps, and commissures.

Animation: aortic valve in action
Know more about aortic valve & treatment of the aortic valve disease:
corina marinescu

No comments:

Post a Comment