Wednesday, March 16, 2016

The Abel Prize

The Abel Prize, often called the Nobel of mathematics, has been awarded this year to Sir Andrew J. Wiles of the University of Oxford. In 1994 Wiles devised a proof of Fermat's Last Theorem, which had remained unsolved for over 350 years. Wiles had been obsessed with the problem since reading about it in a book at age 10. His proof, the Abel committee said, has opened a new era in number theory. Wiles will receive 6 million Norwegian kroner, or about 700,000 US dollars.
Congrats Sir!



No comments:

Post a Comment